What is muscular dystrophy?

Muscular dystrophy (MD) is a group of genetic conditions in which the muscles that control movement (called voluntary muscles) progressively weaken.There are over 30 different types of muscular dystrophy that affect different
There are nine major forms of muscular dystrophy:
• Myotonic
• Duchenne
• Becker
• Limb-girdle
• Facioscapulohumeral
• Congenital
• Oculopharyngeal
• Distal
• Emery-Dreifuss
Muscular dystrophy can appear in infancy up to middle age or later, and its form and severity are determined in part by the age at which it occurs. Some types of muscular dystrophy affect only males while others affect both males and females.With sufficient support, medical and removal of barriers, people with MD live a full life.
Various tests are available to diagnose the different types of MD though often clinical assessment is the starting point on the journey to diagnosis. Those with MD may take as many as 15years without a proper diagnosis.